Privacy Tip: Donāt Post Vaccination Record Cards on Social Media
So youāve gotten your COVID-19 vaccination. Congratulations, and thank you for nudging the planet closer to the herd immunity needed for life to return to normal! Itās a good idea to take a photo of your card as a backup before filing it with your other important papers, just in case. (If you lose the original, you may be able to get a new one from the site where you got the vaccine or through your stateās Immunization Information System.) However, we do want to offer a note of caution. Resist the urge to post that photoāor one of you gleefully brandishing your cardāon social media. The cards include your name, date of birth, vaccine location, and other personal information that could be used to steal your identity, and any digital miscreant worth their salt is already trawling through your social media feeds for as much personal information as they can find.
(Featured image by Adam Engst)
Work with iOS App Updates in Your Account in the App Store
If youāve turned on automatic App Updates in Settings > App Store on your iPhone or iPad, you might wonder how youād know if an app was updated or what changed. To find that information, open the App Store app and tap your avatar icon in the upper-right corner. Scroll down and youāll see an Updated Recently list. If you pull down on the screen, that will force it to refresh, and you may see a list called Upcoming Automatic Updates at the top. For any downloaded update, you can tap Open to open it. If it hasnāt yet been downloaded, you can tap Update to update it right away rather than waiting for the automatic update. Tap More to see the full release notes. Finally, hereās a hidden tip: swipe left on any app to delete it.
(Featured image by Brett Jordan from Pexels)
Donāt Store Confidential Files in Online File Sharing Services
Given their integration into the Macās Finder, it can be easy to forget that online file sharing services like Dropbox, Google Drive, iCloud Drive, and Microsoft OneDrive can be accessed using a Web browser by anyone with your username and password. Obviously, you should always have strong, unique passwords, but to be safe, itās best not to use services designed for public file sharing to store unencrypted files containing sensitive information like credit card numbers, Social Security numbers, passport scans, privileged legal documents, financial data, and so on. Keep such data secure on your Macāoutside of any synced foldersāwhere accessing it requires physical access to the machine. If you are worried about where your files are stored or are not comfortable moving them on your own, bring your device into the store anytime, no appointment needed, or you can give us a call or shoot us an email to schedule a remote or onsite support session.
(Featured image based on an original by Kenaz Nepomuceno from Pexels)
Not a Fan of Big Surās Translucent Menu Bar? Hereās How to Disable It
In macOS 11 Big Sur, Apple went back to a design direction from the earliest days of Mac OS X: a translucent menu bar. Since its color changes depending on the desktop picture, many people arenāt enamored of it (left, below). Luckily, reverting to the traditional opaque menu bar is simple. Open System Preferences > Accessibility > Display and select Reduce Transparency. That will turn the menu bar gray again and make other windows and menus opaque, too (right, below). Simple gray might not be as fancy as transparency, but itās more predictable and easier to see. Come by the store anytime, no appointment needed, if you would like assistance from a Geek to do this.
Disable or Remap the Caps Lock Key to Avoid Accidental ALL CAPS
As you undoubtedly know, TYPING IN ALL CAPS is considered shouting on the Internet. Doesnāt it bug you when you accidentally tap the Caps Lock key and start writing in uppercase? The Caps Lock key is vestigialāit was invented as a āShift lockā key to make it easier to type the second characters on the keys of a mechanical typewriter without also holding down the Shift key the entire time. Itās seldom useful on a computer; Google replaced it with a Search key on Chromebook keyboards. It still appears on all of Appleās keyboards, but macOS lets you disable or remap it. In System Preferences > Keyboard > Keyboard, click the Modifier Keys button. In the dialog that appears, choose No Action (or another key) from the pop-up menu next to Caps Lock. Click OK and youāre free from accidental capitalizations.
(Featured image based on an original by Scott Webb from Pexels)
Set Your Preferred Name and Photo for Messages in iOS 13
In your list of conversations in Messages, you probably have lots of people who have generic icons next to their names or numbers. You likely look like that to other people as well, but a new feature in iOS 13 lets you share your preferred name and avatar picture with other iMessage users (blue-bubble friends). In Messages, first tap the ā¢ā¢ā¢ button and then Edit Name and Photo. Then, in the activity view that appears, tap Edit under your photo to select a new photo and set your name as you want it. Make sure Name and Photo Sharing is enabled before tapping Done. From now on, for any iMessage conversations, youāll see a little banner at the top that asks if you want to share your name and photo. Do so and your recipient will get a prompt to replace whatever theyāre seeing for you. (And if, as a recipient, you donāt want to accept the new photo, tap the X button at the right of the prompt.)
(Featured image by Daniel Frese from Pexels)
Unsubscribe from Marketing Email to Lighten Your Inbox Load
Are you overwhelmed by email? Is your Inbox filled with promotions, special offers, and the like? These messages arenāt spamāyou almost always bought something from the company or have some sort of relationship with the senderābut that doesnāt mean you want to hear from them repeatedly. Luckily, itās easy to get off the lists of legitimate senders. Just scroll to the bottom of each message and look for an unsubscribe link. Often it will be the word āUnsubscribeā or an instruction to āclick here to remove yourself.ā Click the link and, if necessary, click an Unsubscribe button on the resulting Web page. Then delete the message and move on to the next one. After a week or so of doing this regularly, you should start to notice a marked decrease in unwanted messages.
(Featured image by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash)
Invoke Split View More Easily in Catalina
Split View on the Mac helps you focus on your work in one appāperhaps a word processorāwhile providing access to one other app, like a Web browser. (Make sure āDisplays have separate Spacesā is selected in System Preferences > Mission Control.) Before macOS 10.15 Catalina, you had to click and hold on the green full-screen button in the upper-left corner of any window, drag that window to one side of the screen, and click a window on the other side to put them side by side. Catalina makes this easier to discover: hover over the green full-screen button briefly and then choose Tile Window to Left of Screen or Tile Window to Right of Screen before selecting a window on the other side of the screen. If you donāt want a 50-50 split, drag the black divider bar between the windows to adjust the proportions. To leave Split View, move your pointer to the top of the screen to reveal the menu bar and then click the green full-screen button.
(Featured image by Adam Engst)